Sabbatical

From my site stats, I can tell there’s at least three people wondering why I haven’t posted recently.  I was taking a break to readjust to a new schedule for our family–one that doesn’t include any part-time day care for Joe II. I believe I’ve spent this time wisely, rethinking some mommy stuff.

I would like to draw your attention to this video

Did you catch that? The bar for being a good parent is set too high. So high, in fact, that it includes BAKING CUPCAKES. These ladies and the audience agree that the bar should be lowered to PRETENDING TO BAKE CUPCAKES–by buying cupcakes from the bakery and covering them with tinfoil.

Frankly, I’m ashamed of these mommies. They sit there talking about how they aren’t good at “mommy” things like crafts and baking. Is this supposed to be helpful or inspiring? I imagine a minivan-mom driving up to the window…

“Welcome to Parent’s Pig Out, what will it be?”

“Ooh, I’ll take Extreme Couponing Combo. I’m trying to save money but I don’t want to cook at home or work out a budget.”

“You get two sides with that, ma’am.”

“Sweatpants smoothie with the nagging-my-husband nachos. It’s so hard to get rid of the pregnancy weight.”

“Anything else ma’am?”

“Oh, two dozen cupcakes with tin-foil so my son doesn’t realize I forgot his third birthday. Or is it his fourth? That’s all!”

It’s one o’clock in the morning now. I know I’ve whined in the past and talked way too much about strollers, but THIS IS THE LIFE. Two SUPER CUTE kids and a hard working husband who brings home the bacon so I can stay home.

What’s the point in living in a first world country if I don’t enjoy all that time me and my kids aren’t spending in a coal mine?

Shoot, I didn’t even have to go back to the rice paddies after giving birth.

Come to think of it, I have a sacred obligation to do this mommy stuff. And I’m going to like it, too!

Now–where’s my cupcake tin? I’ve got some baking to do.

2 thoughts on “Sabbatical

  1. Leah says:

    Yeah, this video is lame. They are the ones that set the bar making me feel like I need a job and perfect kids and beautiful cupcakes lol! Even though I don’t actually like doing kid things very much, the thought of letting someone else do them and shape the way my kids think is horrifying. I’m very grateful I can be a stay at home mom too.

Leave a Reply

