Crowded Co-Sleeping

I’m a fan of co-sleeping…most of the time. But our oldest son pretty much got kicked out of the bed when we found out I was pregnant with our second son.  He wasn’t happy about it, but I couldn’t figure out how everybody could sleep safely on the bed.  We ran into two problems:

1. Joe II isn’t very respectful of his little brother’s space or need to breathe.

2. Joe II falls off the bed.

I couldn’t put Joe II near the edge of the bed or near Benjamin. So into his own bed he went.  Still, the little guy gets lonely about 5am in the morning and sometimes he crawls in with us (or just finds his favorite Netflix cartoon, but that’s a different story).  I wouldn’t mind so much, but he has a thing for my hair. He wants to sleep with his fingers tangled up in it which is far from comfortable. Benjamin has his own set of idiosyncrasies–namely, the desire to sleep perpendicular to everyone else.  The whole set up makes even our king sized bed feel too small and overcrowded.

Any tips for co-sleeping with more than one child? I’d love to hear what works for your family!

“What the heck, let’s just sleep ON mommy!”

5 thoughts on “Crowded Co-Sleeping

  1. Leah says:

    I did it until the oldest was 5, but I didn’t have a man in the bed… (he worked nights) I usually had one on one shoulder and one on the other shoulder… I sometimes woke up with stiff shoulders and I couldn’t roll over, but it’s amazing how many ways you can twist yourself to avoid laying on your back all night. The older one also generally fell off my shoulder sometime during the night so I was free to lay on my side cuddled with the baby, but his legs were always on me.

    • Judith says:

      Whew! I’ve woken up stiff for the same reason. Especially if Joe II sleeps all night with us, I don’t move much. Doesn’t make for a very happy mommy, but everyone else seems content.

  2. Natalee Puentez-Estrada says:

    Just happened upon your post when searching about co-sleeping! We have 3 girls ages 1, 2.5 & 4 who ALL sleep in our bed!!! And yes, my husband too. lol. For my sanity, we moved our mattress to the floor just in case a baby get’s “bumped” in the night. I want to build a low platform bed to circulate the air under the mattress, but until then it’s on the floor. Yup. We have a CA King but I have heard Standard kings are wider so that’s on my wish list. But all in all my babies sleep wherever there’s a spot, and sometimes they cuddle each other. One at the foot of the bed, the baby with me and the other with daddy. It’s a crowded bed, but a loving one.

  3. Haha, I just push mine out of the way and reposition if I am too uncomfortable. We have a sidecar where the older sleeps and I use a pillow for my son if he is on the other side. DH left the bed, but he is a bad bad snorer so it totally benefits me!

    • Judith says:

      Haha! Well, we’ve got No. 3 (dubbed “Captain” by my oldest) coming along around Christmas time. So regardless of my efforts to get children out of the bed, I just keep making more of them and having to start over. No.2 is just now co-sleeping with his brother. It’s been a bumpy transition but he seems to be adjusting.

Leave a Reply

