Part time elimination communication

Image

A few months ago, I mentioned how much I hate changing diapers and I still do.  With Joe II not quite potty trained, I yearn even more for a diaper free life, and Benjamin and I are striving for just that. About three weeks ago, I started elimination communication, or infant potty training, with my youngest son.

Benjamin is turning out to be a very interesting little guy.  He’s one of those babies that can’t stand a dirty or wet diaper. He makes a terrible fuss about it.  When he was six weeks old, I started putting him on the potty whenever he started to fuss. Using a cue of “psss” to encourage a little pottying action, Benjamin took to it right away.  He readily uses the toilet over a diaper whenever I offer, and even seems to “hold it” while I’m getting him to the bathroom.  On two or three occasions, his diaper has even been dry after a nap and he’s only released after being held over the toilet and cued.  He’s a genius!

From what I’ve read, babies who have participated in elimination communication with their parents are fully potty trained by seven to nine months of age. When I say “potty trained” I just mean they have mature bladder control, communicate their need consistently with an attentive parent, and don’t need to wear a diaper. I have happy hopes of this being my boast by the end of the year.

Maybe I’ll never change a nasty diaper again. Or go through this potty training nonsense. You just try arguing the matter out with a two year old who can clearly say, “I am not going to use the potty for poo-poo, Mommy. It’s just for pee-pee.”

One thought on “Part time elimination communication

  1. Our toilet is so close to the wall that I can’t sit like that with a boy — I can’t get my legs far enough apart. I did it a few times with DD because I could hold her higher and not worry about pee spray LOL I love this, “When I say “potty trained” I just mean they have mature bladder control, communicate their need consistently with an attentive parent, and don’t need to wear a diaper.” That is so spot on!

Leave a Reply

