Stroller Finale: It All Ends

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is the moment you’ve all been yawning for. Yes, I will finally wrap up this series on finding the Perfect Double Stroller.  I have made my purchase and it is the Britax B-Ready Stroller. And no, I did not have to take out a loan to get it.

britax b ready stroller

A wonderful young lady advertising on Craigslist gave me a great deal on the Britax B-Ready stroller and the lower carseat adapter.  All I have to order is the universal car seat adapter for my Graco and the second seat (but I don’t plan on getting that until later on since I will use the car seat until Baby #2 is the recommended six months of age).

My estimate in the Britax B-Ready post was that the system would cost $624 with double kit, lower adapter and universal car seat adapter for my Graco.  Even if I spend the going rate of $100 for the double kit and $40 for the universal car seat adapter (and I won’t, because I have time to wait on a good Ebay deal), my grand total for this stroller will be $320. That is a glorious markdown of 49%, resulting in sighs of relief from my darling husband.

A crescent shaped tear in the foam grip handle of the Britax B-Ready –about 2.5 inches long

Of course, when purchasing second hand, some wear and tear is expected.  For instance, a snag in the handle bar foam left it torn.  I called Britax Customer Service and they are sending a replacement handle bar tomorrow. Gratis. Oh yes, this baby was still under original warranty and the dear lady who sold it to me on Craigslist also gave me the paperwork that came with the stroller.

Now we can all sit back and relax

After some all purpose cleaner and a toothbrush, it looks good as new, with the exception of a few scuffs and bumps it received from its original owners. It’s reassuring to know that I didn’t pay retail price to put my very own marks of ownership on it. I think I wouldn’t have wanted to take it outside if I had actually forked over the $620 to buy this sucker new.

After many months of searching, hours spent writing what I’d found, a trip to Richmond to see these babies in the flesh, and boring my husband to tears with my rants about tandem versus side-by-side, it’s done. We’ve finally discovered the Perfect Double Stroller–for us that is.  Now all we need is the second baby.

5 thoughts on “Stroller Finale: It All Ends

  1. marseamodest says:

    Did you get your replacement? I called Britax and they said they dont replace handlebars, that you have to REPLACE THE WHOLE STROLLER

    • Judith says:

      Yes, I did get a replacement handle bar. It only has two screws, so it’s very simple to take off the old one and put on a new one. Is your stroller frame under warranty? Is it the Britax B Ready or a different stroller? If your stroller is under warranty, they should exchange it! They don’t charge shipping to or from. They do require a credit card, but that’s just to ensure that you do send back the faulty equipment (instead of trying to sell it on ebay or something).

      I’ve actually had several things replaced using the warranty: the handle bar, the frame itself, and the main child’s seat. The handle bar had a tear in it, the frame was fine but the black cover popped off the front wheel (the piece that you turn to get the wheel off), and I called for longer straps for the main seat and they just sent me a new seat. I was really surprised that there wasn’t a better way to replace the black piece that popped off the wheel. They literally sent me an entirely new stroller frame for the sake of a 1″ diameter piece of plastic. I’ve been completely satisfied with customer service, as you might guess!

      • marseamodest says:

        I just called them again and told them that “you” got a free handlebar (the clerk told me I’d have to replace the whole stroller!!), and as a gesture of goodwill they are sending the handlebar, thx for the info!

      • Judith says:

        I’m glad you got it sorted out. Funny how different reps say different things. I intended, when I first called, to pay for whatever replacement part I needed, but the rep said it was under warranty!

        Alternatively, I’ve heard of folks taking their torn handle bars to golf shops and having them wrapped. Sounds like a cool option if a stroller company isn’t willing to replace the part.

      • marseamodest says:

        good idea for next time! they should suggest that if they cant honour any repairs. You have been very helpfull – for once the internet came thru for me! Regards from Jerusalem, Israel

Leave a Reply

